Rock On! Alumni Profile: Brady Maroni

This summer, we are taking some time to catch up with former students from the Rock On! band camp. “Rock On Workshop in the Berkshires is a summer rock music workshop for students and young adults.  Our mission is to provide a platform for aspiring musicians to work with professionals in a supportive environment that promotes creativity, collaboration and performance.” We caught up with Brady Maroni, who started off as a guitarist at the camp.

Brady currently attends Pittsfield High School and is working as a dietary aide. Here are some of the questions that we asked him!

Tell us a little bit about yourself! What are you up to?

I’m a musician. I enjoy writing music and lyrics. I am currently trying out independent recording and putting my ideas into an actual project. I’m a very energetic person and it helps fuel my drive and passion for music.

What instrument(s) do you play?

I mainly play Guitar (Electric & Acoustic), Bass, Piano, and Drums. However, I play Ukulele, Mandolin, and the Harmonica. And I just started taking up the conch shell.

What years did you attend Rock On?

I think I started 2011 and continued to go. (2011-now)

What was your role at Rock On?

I mainly was a guitarist in many bands, but I played piano for some.

Are you currently in a band and/or working on any projects?

I’m not in a full on band, but I do little projects with other people like playing at open mics.

What parts of camp did you enjoy the most?

I enjoyed getting up in the morning and listening to all sorts of different people playing, different genres and such. I enjoyed working with other people and putting together songs in just a few days. It was a bit of a challenge, but who doesn’t like a challenge? Meeting new people and getting back together with familiar faces…those are the parts I enjoyed the most.

Did you gain any new knowledge or skill?

Of course. The most valuable skill you pick up at Rock On is the ability to work with other people, which is super important in music. I also learned a lot more about recording in the Sonar classes, which is very important to me.

What did you learn from your experience at Rock On?

I guess I learned that you really need to compromise with other people and that everything is not about you. It’s definitely about team work and that you need to adapt to fit everyone’s needs, as hard as it is. I also learned that Kashmir by Led Zeppelin is a ridiculously long song.

What would advice would you give to any new students at Rock On?

Don’t be intimidated! I tried very hard to get my friend to come to Rock On camp and he was all afraid and said , “ohhh, I’m not gonna be as good as everyone else.” He finally came and was able to fit right in. He really enjoyed the whole experience. You should never be afraid that you are not at the same skill level as other people because working with other people can help you become a better musician.

We loved hearing Brady’s take on the Rock On camp experience! Keep your eyes peeled for more Alumni Profiles!

 

 

 

About rockonworkshop

For musicians and fans

Posted on July 29, 2016, in RockOn News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

