Rock On! Alumni Profile: Matthew Geyer

Matthew Geyer

This summer, we are taking some time to catch up with former students from the Rock On! band camp. “Rock On Workshop in the Berkshires is a summer rock music workshop for students and young adults.  Our mission is to provide a platform for aspiring musicians to work with professionals in a supportive environment that promotes creativity, collaboration and performance.” We caught up with Matthew Geyer, who started off as a guitarist at the camp.

Matthew Geyer is currently attending Vermont Technical College.

Here are some of the questions we asked Matthew Geyer and his responses.

Tell us a little bit about yourself! What have you been up to?

I do a lot of hiking and flying planes when I have the time/money. I love spending time outdoors and jamming with people.

What instrument(s) do you play?

I play guitar, bass guitar, a little bit of drums, and mandolin.

What years did you attend Rock On?

I can’t 100% remember the exact years I attended Rock On, but I think it was 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012. and then I was an intern for 2014.

What was your role(s) at Rock On?

Mainly I played guitar/bass, but when I was an intern I worked one-on-one with a few kids, as well as helping to set up equipment and filling in wherever I was needed.

Are you currently in a band and/or working on any projects?

I’m always writing music! I’m still involved with Petrichor, although we don’t have much of a chance to play much nowadays what with everyone involved in college and whatnot. Other than that, I toured with Crafter for a bit and filled in bass for them.

What parts of camp did you enjoy the most?

I think it was just really nice to meet people with a lot of the same interests as me. I actually started the first band I was in with someone I met at the camp (Will Matica). I enjoyed how positive of an atmosphere it was, and how much I learned from working with interns/teachers.

Did you gain any new knowledge or skill?

Oh yes, definitely! I think it improved my playing drastically, especially just from being around so many talented musicians and being introduced to a myriad of new techniques/styles of music.

What did you learn from your experience at Rock On?

This goes kind of hand in hand with the previous question, but I learned a lot about being more open to music and taking inspiration from many different places.

What would advice would you give to any new students at Rock On?

I would say to always expand your horizons. It’s easy to get backed into a corner with writing and performing if you only take inspiration from one specific place. Have an open mind and try to look for inspiration in everything, because you never know what you might learn!

It was great catching up with Matthew! Stay tuned as we catch up with plenty more alumni from the Rock On summer camp!

About rockonworkshop

For musicians and fans

Posted on June 19, 2016, in RockOn News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

