Rock On! Alumni Profile: Will Matica

Rock On Almuni Will This summer, we are taking some time to catch up with former students from the Rock On! band camp. “Rock On Workshop in the Berkshires is a summer rock music workshop for students and young adults.  Our mission is to provide a platform for aspiring musicians to work with professionals in a supportive environment that promotes creativity, collaboration and performance.” We caught up with Will Matica, a bassist from the camp.

Will is currently attending the University of Massachusetts Amherst.
Here are some of the questions we asked Will and his responses:

Tell us a little bit about yourself! What are you up to?

Since Rock On I have been in several bands. I’ve played countless shows all over the east coast with amazing locals and internationally known bands as well as recorded music with awesome musicians, engineers and producers. I recently graduated from Greenfield Community College with
an associates degree in business, and am now continuing my education at Isenberg Business School at UMass.

What instrument(s) do you play?

I play guitar, bass and I do some vocals.

What years did you attend Rock On?

I think I was 14, so maybe 2009?

What was your role(s) at Rock On?

I played bass in the band And Death For His Amphibian.

Are you currently in a band and/or working on any projects?

I’m always working on projects! I haven’t been in a band for over a year because I’m so busy with other aspects of my life, but I am a studio musician and consultant for several local bands.

What parts of camp did you enjoy the most?

Meeting boatloads of amazing musicians and people. I met several musicians at Rock On that I would go on to form bands with and would help change my life forever.

Did you gain any new knowledge or skill?

Rock On helped me learn how to collaborate with other musicians, as well as figuring out how to play to every musician’s strength. When you’re playing someone else’s song, making it way more than just a cover is key.

What did you learn from your experience at Rock On?

As a teenager, the best way to find other passionate musicians to begin your career with is immersing yourself in an environment of positivity and community that Rock On provides perfectly.

What would advice would you give to any new students at Rock On?

Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there! Even if you aren’t proud of your current level of musicianship, Rock On will help you improve immeasurably if you’re ready to learn. Don’t be intimidated. Everyone, even the world’s biggest rock stars started somewhere. Rock On was a great place for me to start, and I’m positive it will be a great place for you.

It was great catching up with Will! Stay tuned as we catch up with plenty more alumni from the Rock On summer camp!

About rockonworkshop

For musicians and fans

Posted on June 13, 2016, in RockOn News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

